Past SGS awardees


1999 David Garner, University of Cambridge Microtriode
2000 Bernd Günther, University of Wuppertal Comparison of field emission from diamond and AlN coated Si tips
2001 Jim Carey, Harvard University  
2002 Ioannis Kymissis, MIT Field emission from organic composites
2003 K. Murakami, Osaka University Characteristics of nanoelectron source fabricated using beam assisted processing
2004 No awardee  
2005 No awardee  
2006 Kazufumi Shiozawa, Shizuoka University Fabrication and characteristics of novel graphite field-emitters for application to electron- beam pumped light sources
2007 Karthik Subramanian, Vanderbilt University Development of a vacuum packaged nanodiamond lateral field emission device
2008 K. Murakami, Osaka University Observation of fringe-like electron emission pattern from radical-oxygen gas exposed Pt field emitter fabricated by electron-beam-induced deposition
2009 No awardee  
2010 Jonathan Jarvis, Vanderbilt University Resonant tunneling and extreme brightness from diamond field emitters and carbon nanotubes
2011 Akifumi Koike, Shizuoka University A functional tiny electron gun for a true microcolumn
2012 Jin-Woo Jeong, Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI), Korea A dramatic improvement in the lifetime of the fully vacuum-sealed micro-focusing X-ray tube for stationary digital breast tomosynhtesis
2013 Alex A. Patterson, MIT Elementary framework for cold field emission incorporation of quantum confinement effects
2014 Chiwon Lee, Paul Scherrer Institut and Max Planck Institut Field emission beam characteristics of a Double-gated single emitter
2015 Shi-Jun Liang, Singapore University of Technology and Design Novel Mechanisms of Themionic, Field and Photo-electric Emission from Graphene
2016 Gongtao Wu, Peking University Graphene-Based Micro-Emitters and Vacuum Transistors
2017 Iman Rastegar, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research In-Situ Work Function Measurements in Thermoelectronic Generators